Logo
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in
Cannot select a submission category?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.fanart-central.net Forum Index -> Announcements
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13694
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 7:21 pm    Post subject: Cannot select a submission category? Reply with quote

We recently upgraded the category-select box that appears on the submissions form, but are already receiving a few reports of bugs in it.

I'm hoping this is just an isolated incident (I wrote the script, so I'm a bit paranoid about bug reports), or something that can be written off as "oops, fixed now"; but if the category bog doesn't work for you, please provide the following information with your report:

- Internet browser and version
- Whether or not your Internet browser generates any error messages. Check your Internet browser's Javascript console, or enable Javascript debugging messages, this will help me determine what part of the script is responsible for generating your error. Otherwise I'm searching in the dark without a flashlight.
- Whether or not this problem occurs on every category, or just certain ones (and if so, which ones).
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you want replies to this here?
Anyway, I came here right after I was having problems with this.
I'm using internet exlporer, version 6.0
I almost never get error messages, but I am now ("this page cannot be desplayed), and I'm kinda confused as to what to do with the rest of that part.
I've tried refreshing the page, going to it again, and so on. It's still the same, every time I go to submit somethig under anime/manga no categories show and I get an error message. And I just went back and checked, it does this on every category.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13694
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's strange, because I've tested it on IE6 too and it doesn't give me any errors. Go to your Internet options, select to display notifications about script errors, then reload the page.
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I would have never guessed that on my own, or at least it would have taken quite a while.

Soo here's your error message:

Line: 69
Char: 5
Error: 'names[...]' is null or not an object
Code: 0
URL: http://www.fanart-central.net/add_picture.php?method=upload

Tada!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13694
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, it's the same error message that somebody else was reporting yesterday. What version of Internet Explorer are you running?

I am receiving no errors on my end (IE6 nor FF2), which is going to make debugging it quite difficult because while I have a rough idea what the error is, I have no idea why it is occuring at all.

So I need more info.

Not from you though -- I need it straight from the script itself. I'm tweaking up a new version to do this as we speak....

Stay tuned for further updates.

In the meantime, tips for IE users:
1 - Enable Javascript debugging and have it display a notification about every script error. Then refresh the submissions form and note any errors that may appear.
2 - If the notification window for script errors displays a "Previous" button, this means that it found multiple errors, so back through the errors to find out which one happened FIRST, that's usually the only thing that actually needs to be fixed.
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cstdenis
Evil Overlord


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 6490
Location: In the tubes.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The category box itself work fine for me in IE 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254 (damn ms has long version numbers)

The description box gives a "page cannot be displayed" error on first load (till a category is clicked). I have no idea why.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm running IE 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254 too.
I'm going to go see if it works with firefox right now....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13694
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's my IE version number too, down to the last char.

Further instructions, Blade and others:

- Immediately after clicking on a category, type 'd3bug' and you should get a popup alert showing info about how the script ran. Let me know if it displays any error messages, this will help fine-tune where the bug is.

- Let me know if the script does anything else out of the ordinary -- i.e. like listing categories by number instead of by name.

- If the debug output code doesn't work, make sure to refresh (or force-refresh) the page so that it can load the new version of the script file.
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And it works! Whoot! Go firefox!

and it sems as though you fixed part of it on internet explorer too since last night.
Though it still isn't quite right, do you need to know what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13694
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I added a few sanity checks to, hopefully, keep the script from crashing (though it really shouldn't have been in the first place).

Quote:
Though it still isn't quite right, do you need to know what?

Read instructions on previous post, especially if you see categories being listed by number rather than by name.
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol, I was typing that while you posted, so I'm going through what you said right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13694
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posting party. Wee.
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep!

And Whoa! I am not typing what came up...screenshot time, do ya mind?

I was looking at the problem with the first category under anime/manga.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13694
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
And Whoa! I am NOT typing what came up...

*shudder* Damn, I was afraid of that -- that would imply a massive failure in parsing the script's names[] array....

Also try a different heading, one with fewer cats (Anime/Manga has 200+).
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not tooo much, but still too much for me to care to type:

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y18/bladededragon/facscreenerror.jpg


Last edited by Blade on Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And ewwwww....that stretched it, I'm going to just link it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I'm off to try another heading...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13694
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wtf... I never coded that!

Looks like a naming conflict between my script variables and . . . something else, I have no freakin' clue what but if I rename one or two of the variables, it should avoid the issue entirely.

Is your IE still generating any other script errors?
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, here's the same thing under the misc category:

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y18/bladededragon/facscreenerror2.jpg

I'm going to see if that happens in all of them...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blade
Still very bored


Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ohohohoo....there's another one too if I scroll up (under all the categories)
Tada! : http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y18/bladededragon/facscreenerror3.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.fanart-central.net Forum Index -> Announcements All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum