Logo
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in
New FAC Layout Bugs & Glitches
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.fanart-central.net Forum Index -> FAC Site Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  

What do you think about the new site version?
Definitely better than the old version
20%
 20%  [ 6 ]
Mixed feelings
26%
 26%  [ 8 ]
Definitely preferred the old version
53%
 53%  [ 16 ]
Total Votes : 30

Author Message
papiocutie
Very bored


Joined: 03 Dec 2011
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

luckylace222 wrote:
Mouse, I am curious. What type old device/computer are you using to access this website?

angel88 says she cannot comment, and there is some trouble with validating her email, which keeps her from commenting. She expressed the issue in the form of a picture, lol.

http://www.fanart-central.net/pictures/user/angel88/828212/help-me

Quote:
I am having a few probs too, I can't post comments, Or fill out the picture description!

Say, did this happen immediately after the new site version launched, or were you not able to comment recently?

Quote:
copy paste won't show up on this site for me anymore on the main site i right click and nothing shows up even if i copied something to paste in i have Firefox the newest update

This is a weird solution, but highlight whatever you want to copy/paste from FAC (using Ctrl C and Ctrl V) , then copy it into a google search bar, and if the google search bar pops up with something, copy the text in the google search bar and paste it back into your text box in FAC to see if you completely copy and paste it.

I been having them recently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i mean copy and paste does not show up at all on fac for me
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13690
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Falconlobo wrote:
i mean copy and paste does not show up at all on fac for me

Do you mean: When you right-click there is no popup menu showing like there should be?
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CreamandPoppufan166
Newb


Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Location: I have no idea what to tell you :D

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

luckylace222 wrote:

Quote:
I think I know why I can't comment.

My iOS is lower than five.... WHY did I not NOTICE THAT?!! I wish it'd work for iOS 4...

Oh well. MORE WAITING IS WORTH IT
...and stuff.

Cream, you do not have a personal computer to access FAC? Portable Internet devices are convenient, but browsing websites on the medium they were originally meant to be browsed on really dodges the outside problems.


Sadly, no.
We do have a computer, but I'm not allowed to use FAC on it. The only place I can go on it for now is my iPod Touch. >.<
_________________
Status: Not sure how I feel. ^^;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there is a menu minus any copying options funny though if i put the submit box on full view screen then the copy options appear but not on normal like it used to
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13690
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you capture screenshots?
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't have photoshop or any other picture sites to post them on
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SweetxinsanityxSarah
Elder Than Dirt


Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: 20th Ward

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this tactic lobo;

1: Go to the page that's giving you trouble and catch the error in action.
2: Hit the button on your keyboard labeled PrtScn.
3: Go to paint on your computer, go to "Paste" and the picture of the error should pop up. Save it then.
4: Go to imageshack or any other free photo sharing site and upload it, then show the error picture here.

Hope this helps. nn
_________________
Our life is made by the death of others...
~Leonardo Da Vinci
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i hope it works but i don't have any accounts on those types of sites
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SweetxinsanityxSarah
Elder Than Dirt


Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 6829
Location: 20th Ward

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You dont need to on some of em. It's how I got away with resizing soooo many of my pics on here. xP

(I used imageshack alot...but you gotta be quick and outsmart it nowadays since it's bugging people to register)
_________________
Our life is made by the death of others...
~Leonardo Da Vinci
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

to Stratadrake i pressed full view but copy and paste options did not come up until i pressed source on a pic is this a bug?
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13690
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wait, what's going on? Are you trying to copy and paste the picture or the description text?
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

description text
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luckylace222
Site Helper


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 1545
Location: Baby Fishy

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Falcon, did the copy and pasting problem happen immediately after the site update or only recently? So far, I am not hearing any copy/pasting problems from other users. You are using the same computer/browser as you did with the old FAC?

Did my method not work for you? :
Quote:
This is a weird solution, but highlight whatever you want to copy/paste from FAC (using Ctrl C and Ctrl V) , then copy it into a google search bar, and if the google search bar pops up with something, copy the text in the google search bar and paste it back into your text box in FAC to see if you completely copy and paste it.


Were you able to successfully print screen the problem? If so, send the screenshot to us in the form of a link.

EDIT: It seems that when you copy the same wording over again in the text box, the text box inserts in "=13px." For example, if I copy "DANCE SOPHIE" over and over again in the text box, the actual comment comes out as "DANCE SOPHIE =13pxDANCE SOPHIE"
_________________
“Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checked by failure...than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat.” ~Theodore Roosevelt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

recently but i can only paste text when i press source otherwise it will not show up with the copying options on here
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13690
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Falconlobo wrote:
recently but i can only paste text when i press source otherwise it will not show up with the copying options on here

I still have a lot of trouble trying to understand what your problem is. Without screenshots, your wording keeps throwing me off.

When you say "here" (as in forums) you right-click and there's a popup menu that includes "cut", "copy", and "paste", right? ("Cut" and "Copy" are only available if you have some text selected; "paste" is only available if there's something to paste)

What do you mean by "source" ?
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am saying source is on pics and pros with the add comment button on pics and pros
but the normal browser options available with most browsers on all sites are not showing up even when i copy something on here unless i press source above the add comment box
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13690
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

... Aha, I see what you mean now. The "source" button toggles the editor between a standard textarea and WYSIWYG mode. In the latter, you have to right-click somewhere within the actual text (not just anywhere in the box) for the context menu to bring up your copy/paste options. ...which unfortunately makes it not easy to simply paste a description from elsewhere.
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falconlobo
Forum Stalker


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 1560
Location: Home

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bingo
_________________
The Eclectic Collector
random note to anyone i saw a Ups truck being towed by a tow truck lol
if a computer and keyboard had a punctuation semi-colon cleaning would it be a semi-colonoscopy


LOL dancing TMNT's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stratadrake
Grammar nazi
(and proud of it)


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 13690
Location: Moo

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More specifically, you have to have the mouse cursor on a line that has text in it (not necessarily on the text itself) for the context menu to be text-oriented (copy/paste, etc.) instead of page-oriented (back/reload, etc.). This doesn't seem to be unique to FAC's editor - I know Hotmail's editor is like that too.
_________________
Strata here: Nanowrimo - FAC - dA - FA
Disclaimer: Posts may contain URLs. Click at your own risk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.fanart-central.net Forum Index -> FAC Site Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 7 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum